Municipalities / Cayey
Galería Multimedios
Audio Gallery Video Gallery Photo Gallery     Increase/Decrease Text Size Send to a Friend Print Friendly Version Universal Accessibility Help Fundación Puertorriqueña de las Humanidades Official Web Site.

Illustrious Citizens

Versión español
La planchadora (1948) painting by Ramón Frade
Jenaro Baquero – economist, attorney and educator. Baquero was Secretary of Commerce from 1965 to 1969. He has also presided or was on the board of several private and public institutions.

Félix Lucas-Benet – secretary of the provincial assemblyProvincial Assembly: an elected body that directed and administered the interests of a province. In Puerto Rico, the Provincial Assembly was created by Royal Decree on 1813, which meant that the island had the same administrative and political rights as the other Spanish provinces. in San Juan.

Milagros Benet de Newton - educator, civic leader, and political figure. Benet fought for votes for women in Puerto Rico. She was president of the Suffragist League (1920 – 1922) and the Pan-American Women's Association of Puerto Rico (1923 – 1933), among others.

Félix Bonilla-Norat – painter and art critic, Bonilla studied in the Untied States, Spain, and Italy, and exhibited at the Salon de Tuileries in 1938. Bonilla had a studio in New York and was an art critic for The San Juan Star.

Luis Raúl "El Rolo" Colón – an outstanding baseball player.

Angel David Cruz-Báez – geographer and educator, Cruz wrote the Atlas de Puerto Rico. He headed the Geography Department at the University of Puerto Rico and the Puerto Rico Geographers Association.

Agustín Fernández-Colón – a civic leader, he was secretary of the Puerto Rico Farmers' Association, a member of the Cayey city council, and director of the newspaper La Correspondencia de Puerto Rico.

Benigno Fernández-García – attorney and political figure. Fernández-García was born in Luquillo, but was adopted as a native son of Cayey. As a political figure, he was a Representative in 1912, 1914, and 1917,as a member of the Union Party of Puerto Rico. Between 1924 and 1928 he was mayor of Cayey for the Puerto Rico Alliance Party and he represented that party in the House in 1928, serving as vice president of that body. From 1934 to 1939 he was attorney general of Puerto Rico, and under Governorgovernor: in the Spanish colonies, the governor was the figure immediately beneath the viceroy in political and legal affairs. Like the alcaldes mayores, the governors could not be vecinos, encomenderos or owners of land or mines in the jurisdiction. When the title was added to that of Captain General, the position also implied the highest military authority. Governorships were applied to sparsely populated colonies or frontier zones. Puerto Rico was a frontier zone. Tugwell he headed the Labor Department.

Eugenio Fernández-Méndez – anthropologist, educator, poet, and essayist. Fernández headed the University of Puerto Rico Press (1955 – 1964) and was the first president of the board of directors of the Institute of Puerto Rican Culture (1955 – 1964). He also was a member of the Puerto Rico Academy of the Spanish Language and resident humanist at the Cayey Campus of the University of Puerto Rico. His works include subjects such as anthropology, history, and art, reflecting his interest in the issue of Puerto Rican identity.

Lionel Fernández-Méndez – attorney and political figure. A member of the Constituent Assembly that created the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (1951 – 1952). Senator for the Popular Democratic Party from 1949 to 1972.

Ramón Frade de León –renowned painter. Frade studied in the Dominican Republic, where he won a gold medal from the Dominican Academy for his work Vista panorámica de Santo Domingo (1893). He also studied briefly in Italy. His most famous works include El pan nuestro de cada día, La planchadora, and La cogedora de café.

José "Rony" Jarabo-Alvarez - attorney and political figure. Jarabo was an at -large representative from 1973 to 1992. He presided the House from 1985 to 1992.

Emérita León-Candelas - educator and painter

July César López – poet and essayist. Lopez studied in Puerto Rico and Venezuela. His works include books of essays such as Peregrino de sombras (1967) and Pulso variable (1979) and poetry such as Fogatas del tiempo (1972) and Geografía del vértigo (1976).

Francisco E. Martínez-Aponte – economist and educator.

Juan Mata-Vázquez – first mayor of Cayey.

Miguel Meléndez-Muñoz - journalist, essayist, and storywriter

Baltasar Mendoza-Martínez – an outstanding mayor.

Angel M. Mergal – poet and anthropologist.

Pedro Montañez – known as El Torito de Cayey. Boxer of international stature.

Luis Muñoz-Morales - writer, essayist, university professor, and author of well-known legal treatises.

Rafael Rivera-Otero – poet and journalist. He was sub-director and correspondent for El Mundo.
Rivera received the Roosevelt Medal from the Puerto Rico Athenaeum in 1930 for the poem For All the Days that Were not Beautiful.

Jesús María Robles "Chuito el de Cayey" – musician

Félix Rodríguez-Báez – painter. His works include landscapes and still lifes, his oil painting Paisaje de Cayey (1968) being one of his best-known works.

Marcos Rodríguez-Frese – poet. Rodríquez-Frese has received several prizes form the Puerto Rico Athenaeum. At one time he headed the pro-independence Federación Universitaria Pro-Independencia.

José Rodríguez-Pastor – physician and writer. Rodríguez headed the Tuberculosis Bureau in Puerto Rico for almost two decades (1925 – 1942). His writings include a collection of essays titled La importancia de ser puertorriqueño.

Vicente Rodríguez-Rivera – attorney, poet and writer. He wrote for newspapers and periodicals, such as La Democracia, El Imparcial, El Mundo, and Puerto Rico Ilustrado.

Bernardo Vega – journalist, political figure, and union leader. Vega was one of the founders of the Socialist Party (1912), founded and directed the newspaper Gráfico (1927), and wrote for the newspapers Liberation and El Progresista.

Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5,

Version: 08112001 Rev. 1
How to quote this article?
See Glossary
External Links
Municipal Goverment
History of Cayey
FPH is not responsible for the external links content.